Shengfeng Development Sets 1-for-15 Reverse Split for Sept. 8; the Release Gives No Reason for It

Shengfeng Development Limited (Nasdaq: SFWL) said on Sept. 2, 2026 that it will effect a 1-for-15 reverse split of both its Class A and Class B ordinary shares, with a marketplace effective date of Sept. 8, 2026. The release states that the Class A ordinary shares will begin trading on the Nasdaq Capital Market on a post-split basis upon the opening of the market that day. The split has not taken effect; as of publication the shares still trade on a pre-split basis.
The arithmetic in the release is straightforward. Approximately 40,617,513 Class A ordinary shares become approximately 2,707,834, and approximately 41,880,000 Class B ordinary shares become approximately 2,792,000. Combined, a base of roughly 82.5m ordinary shares is reduced to roughly 5.5m. Par value moves proportionally in the other direction, from $0.0001 to $0.0015 per share. The company said the split will not modify any rights or preferences attaching to the shares.
The Class A ordinary shares take a new CUSIP, G8117B 119. VStock Transfer, LLC is acting as exchange agent. Holders who hold through a broker need take no action and will see positions adjusted automatically; registered holders of record are to receive transition instructions from the transfer agent. The company said the split was approved by shareholders at an extraordinary general meeting held on Aug. 24, 2026.
How the release handles fractions
One mechanical detail is worth setting out precisely, because the release addresses fractions at only one level. It states that any fractional share in the total number of issued post-split ordinary shares that would have resulted from the reverse split will be rounded up to the nearest whole number. That language is directed at the aggregate issued share count, not at individual holdings: the release does not say how any fractional entitlement arising in a particular holder's account is to be treated, and it does not describe a cash payment in lieu of fractions. The Herald draws no conclusion about individual accounts from an aggregate provision.
What the announcement does not say
The release does not state a purpose for the reverse split. It does not cite Nasdaq Listing Rule 5550(a)(2) or any minimum bid price requirement, does not reference a deficiency notice, a compliance period, a hearings panel or a staff determination, and does not describe the split as part of a compliance plan. The Herald reviewed the company's press release and a second rendering of the same announcement and found no company statement of purpose in either. The second rendering carries a general explanatory note that companies often undertake reverse splits to regain compliance with an exchange minimum price rule or to appeal to investors who avoid very low-priced stocks; that note is generic commentary by the publisher, not a statement about Shengfeng, and it is not reported here as one.
That absence should be reported as an absence rather than filled in. Reverse splits at this end of the market are frequently, but not universally, undertaken to cure a bid-price deficiency; they are also used to meet the price thresholds of a planned offering, to satisfy index or institutional eligibility criteria, or simply to reduce a share count. The Herald did not locate a Shengfeng release disclosing a Nasdaq listing deficiency, and does not assert either that one exists or that one does not. Any reader relying on a stated rationale should look to the company's own filings for it.
Financial context, with an age warning
The financial figures that follow cover the full year ended Dec. 31, 2025 and were reported in March 2026. They are more than five months old, they are the most recent full-year figures the Herald was able to source, and they do not reflect trading since. They are drawn from MarketScreener's summary of the results, identified in the sources below; the primary annual filing could not be retrieved for this article, and MarketScreener's report does not specify whether the figures are presented on a GAAP or a non-GAAP basis.
On that secondary source, Shengfeng reported revenue of $572.48m for 2025 against $504.16m in 2024, and net income of $11.93m against $10.88m, with basic earnings per share from continuing operations of $0.14 against $0.13. Those figures describe a profitable business reporting revenue in the hundreds of millions. The Herald notes them only as context and offers no explanation for the split, because the company has not given one.
A reverse split does not by itself change a holder's proportionate economic interest in the company. It changes the number of shares each interest is expressed in, and it changes the quoted price mechanically. It does not create or destroy value, does not alter revenue, earnings, cash or debt, and does not on its own resolve any listing matter that may or may not be outstanding.
Micro-cap and nano-cap securities carry substantial risk, including the possible total loss of an investment. Liquidity in these names is often thin, and a quoted price may not be obtainable in size; reverse splits in particular can be followed by wide spreads and erratic quotes in the first sessions of split-adjusted trading. Shengfeng is additionally a China-based operating business listed in the United States, a structure that carries its own disclosure and enforcement considerations.
The Herald does not offer investment advice and takes no view on the merits of this security. The single dated fact readers can act on for their own record-keeping is the effective date: Sept. 8, 2026, at the market open.
Sources & further reading
- PR Newswire, "Shengfeng Development Limited Announces 1-for-15 Reverse Stock Split with Marketplace Effective Date on September 8, 2026", published September 2, 2026, accessed September 2, 2026
- StockTitan, "Shengfeng Development Plans 1-for-15 Reverse Split", published September 2, 2026, accessed September 2, 2026
- MarketScreener, "Shengfeng Development Limited Reports Earnings Results for the Full Year Ended December 31, 2025", published March 27, 2026, accessed September 2, 2026

